Featured Posts
Thursday, April 3, 2025
No, You Can't Hug Manny Machado - Interference at 3B
Hugging Padres 3B Manny Machado turned into an interference-aided double play for Guardians baserunner Gabriel Arias, as 3B Umpire John Bacon ruled that Arias prevented Machado from making a potential play on trailing Cleveland runner Austin Hedges.
With none out and runners on first and second base (R1, R2), Guardians runner R2 Arias took off for third base, drawing a throw from Padres pitcher Kyle Hart to Machado, who waited to tag Arias. But instead of giving himself up, Arias wrapped up Machado, who mimed a fake throw to second base where following runner Hedges was advancing.
Umpire Bacon, ruling that Arias' actions prevented Machado from making a potential play on another runner, ruled now-retired baserunner Arias guilty of interference pursuant to Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(5): "Any batter or runner who has just been put out, or any runner who has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of their teammate."
Broadcasters also erroneously alleged that pitcher Hart balked in making his initial throw to third base, which was unoccupied to begin the play, and without first disengaging the rubber.
While a pitcher is generally prohibited from throwing to an unoccupied base from the rubber, OBR 6.02(a)(4) makes one key exception that is relevant here: "If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when the pitcher, while touching their plate, throws, or feints a throw to an unoccupied base, except for the purpose of making a play."
Because R2 Arias was attempting to advance to third base, Hart's throw to third qualifies for the purpose-of-making-a-play exception to the balk rule and is therefore legal.
Video as follows:
Labels:
Articles
,
Balk
,
Interference
,
John Bacon
,
Rule 6.01
,
Rules Review
,
UEFL
,
Umpire Odds/Ends
,
Video Analysis
Wednesday, April 2, 2025
Equipment Check! Are Torpedo Bats Legal?
You asked us if the torpedo bats several Yankees players started using this season are legal, so we turned to Official Baseball Rule 3.02—the bat rule—to figure out the answer.
Torpedo bats differ from standard wooden bats in several ways: first, the barrel of the bat, which retains a somewhat similar length to the standard's barrel, is shifted several inches up the bat, toward the knob/handle side. This, in turn, means the end of the barrel on a torpedo bat does not correspond with the end of the bat itself, as is the case on many standard bats. Instead, the barrel ends a few inches from the end, and the bat's thickness thins slightly past the barrel toward the end. In turn, there is no indented cup on a torpedo bat, as there would be on a standard bat (for force dissipation purposes).
OBR 3.02 is comprised of three provisions, so we began with part (a), which states, "The bat shall be a smooth, round stick not more than 2.61 inches in diameter at the thickest part and not more than 42 inches in length. The bat shall be one piece of solid wood."
The torpedo bat changes the standard bat shape by shifting the barrel toward the handle, but does not change the barrel's thickness nor the overall bat's total length. Therefore, provision (a) is satisfied.
OBR 3.02(b) states, "Cupped Bats. An indentation in the end of the bat up to 1¼ inches in depth is permitted and may be no wider than two inches and no less than one inch in diameter. The indentation must be curved with no foreign substance added."
Due to its shifted barrel design, the torpedo bat general has no indented cup, which, because 3.02(b) permits intendtation, but does not require it, does not apply.
OBR 3.02(c) states, "The bat handle, for not more than 18 inches from its end, may be covered or treated with any material or substance to improve the grip. Any such material or substance that extends past the 18-inch limitation shall cause the bat to be removed from the game."
Finally, because a torpedo bat does not alter the standard handle length, provision (c) is also satisfied.
Accordingly, we find a torpedo bat is indeed legal. | Video as follows:
Labels:
Articles
,
Ask the UEFL
,
Rule 3.02
,
Rules Review
,
UEFL
,
Umpire Odds/Ends
Monday, March 31, 2025
MLB Ejection 001 - Brennan Miller (1; Rickie Weeks)
HP Umpire Brennan Miller ejected Brewers associate manager Rickie Weeks (ball one call; QOCY) in the top of the 7th inning of the #Royals-#Brewers game. With none out and one on, Royals batter Hunter Renfroe took a 0-2 slider from Brewers pitcher Elvis Peguero for a called first ball. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the inner edge of home plate and at the hollow of the knee (px -0.82, pz 1.64 [sz_bot 1.65 / RAD 1.53]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Royals were leading, 5-0. The Royals ultimately won the contest, 11-1.
This is Brennan Miller (55)'s 1st ejection of 2025.
This is Brennan Miller (55)'s 1st ejection of 2025.
This is the 1st ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 1st coach ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 0 Managers, 1 Coach, 0 Players.
This is Milwaukee's 1st ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL Central (MIL 1; CHC, CIN, PIT, STL 0).
This is Rickie Weeks' 1st ejection since July 4, 2010 (John Hirschbeck; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Brennan Miller's 1st ejection since Sept 17, 2024 (Jose Altuve; QOC = N [Fair/Foul]).
Wrap: Kansas City Royals vs Milwaukee Brewers, 3/31/25 | Video as follows:
Wrap: Kansas City Royals vs Milwaukee Brewers, 3/31/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
Brennan Miller
,
Ejections
,
Kulpa Rule
,
MIL
,
QOCY
,
Rickie Weeks
,
UEFL
Sunday, March 30, 2025
Out of Base Path Call Against M's Solano Ends Game
Umpire Stu Scheurwater's out of the base path call against Seattle batter-runner Donovan Solano ended the A's-Mariners game as Stu ruled that Solano ran more than three feet from his established base path to avoid first baseman Tyler Soderstrom's tag. Did he?
Video as follows:
Out of the base path calls near first base are one of the only instances in which painted lines on the baseball field are helpful for adjudication. This is because the distance from the foul line to the lane line along the first baseline is exactly three feet, by rule.
To review, out of the base path is as follows: "Any runner is out when they run more than three feet away from their base path to avoid being tagged unless their action is to avoid interference with a fielder fielding a batted ball. A runner’s base path is established when the tag attempt occurs and is a straight line from the runner to the base they are attempting to reach safely" (Official Baseball Rule 5.09(b)(1)).
While the runner's lane interference rule, as pertains to the physical markings on the ground, states: "The chalk lines marking the threefoot lane are a part of that lane and a batter-runner is required to have both feet within the three-foot lane" (OBR 5.09(a)(11)).
So although the runner's lane rule itself bears no relevance to this tag play at first base, because Solano was positioned on the fair territory side of the runner's lane at the beginning of F3 Soderstrom's tag attempt, and because Solano then ran onto the foul territory side of the runner's lane, we know that Solano must have run more than three feet from his base path to avoid the tag, and, thus, is out of the base path.
Video as follows:
Labels:
Articles
,
Ask the UEFL
,
Base Path
,
Rule 5.09
,
Rules Review
,
Stu Scheurwater
,
UEFL
,
Umpire Odds/Ends
,
Video Analysis
Saturday, March 29, 2025
No, You Can't Catch a Ball With Your Hat
Yankees center fielder Trent Grisham got away with an illegal play when he took off and used his hat to field Brewers batter Isaac Collins' fly ball to deep right-center, a rules infraction that should have resulted in a three-base award had the umpires spotted it.
Replays indicate that in the 9th inning of New York's 4-2 win over Milwaukee, Grisham deliberately took off his uniform cap and used it to help control a fair ball at the wall, which is against the rules, the penalty for which is a three-base award: "Three bases, if a fielder deliberately touches a fair ball with their cap, mask or any part of their uniform detached from its proper place on their person. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at their peril" (Official Baseball Rule 5.06(b)(4)(B)).
The violation went uncalled, resulting in a double with Brewers baserunner R1 Joey Ortiz advancing from first to third base. Had the umpires called and enforced the violation and its penalty, Ortiz would have scored and batter-runner Collins would have been placed at third base.
Video as follows:
Video as follows:
Labels:
Articles
,
Detached Equipment
,
Rule 5.06
,
Rules Review
,
UEFL
,
Umpire Odds/Ends
,
Video Analysis
Thursday, March 27, 2025
3B Umpire Calls Check Swing on Right-Handed Batter???
Ordinarily, crew-of-three 3B umpires handle check swing appeals for left-handed hitters and 1B umpires take righties...so why did a 3B umpire rule on a check swing for a righty in NCAA's LSU vs Louisiana game?
The prevailing wisdom for most umpire manuals in a crew of three is that check (or "checked" in softball parlance) swings for lefties get appealed to U3 and righties get appealed to U1. That's what most umpire manuals will tell you, such as a prior year's NCAA Softball Umpire Manual, which states, "The plate umpire should get help from the first base umpire for right-handed batters and the third base umpire for left-handed batters, regardless of where the base umpires are positioned on the field."
Professional baseball, at some levels, did experiment years ago with having the third base umpire take check swings on right-handed batters during situations in which the first base umpire is counter-rotated onto the infield, such as the runners on 1B & 2B situation in LSU-Louisiana...but the experiment didn't seem to work and umpire mechanics returned to the U1/righties and U3/lefties setup.
Looks like softball is angling for a new check swing mechanic experiment.
Video as follows:
Video as follows:
Labels:
Articles
,
Check Swing
,
UEFL
,
Umpire Odds/Ends
,
Video Analysis
Thursday, March 20, 2025
Kid Umpire Calls MLB Game from the Stands
A young fan attending a Blue Jays-Cardinals Spring Training game dressed like an MLB umpire called balls and strikes from the stands, stealing the show: "This is all we want," exclaimed the St Louis broadcast.
Complete with a pro-style black umpire uniform shirt, facemask, black ball bag (sorry, Cubby!), and heather gray pants, baseball's newest real fake umpire dazzled while calling the game alongside—and, timing-wise, in sync with—HP Umpire Tom Hanahan: "that kid is on point!"
The fake ump monicker refers to the original "Fake Umpires" from 2008-10, Tim Williams and Joe Farrell of Toronto, who in 2015 took to Citi Field for a charity fundraiser, after raising over $10,000 during their first round of fake officiating from the stands. Williams and Farrell previously ejected George Washington from the Presidents' Race in Washington, DC, during a 2009 game.
Video as follows:
Video as follows:
Labels:
Articles
,
UEFL
,
Umpire Odds/Ends
,
Video Analysis
Wednesday, March 19, 2025
Shohei Ohtani's Home Run or Fan Interference in Tokyo?
Dodgers DH Shohei Ohtani hit a home run in Game 2 of LA's Tokyo Series sweep over Chicago, but not after umpires reviewed the play for spectator interference. Let's take another look at this call stands decision, made due to lack of clear and convincing evidence.
With one out and none on in the top of the 5th inning, Ohtani hit a 2-2 fastball from Cubs pitcher Nate Pearson to deep right-center field, whereupon a fan reached for and touched the baseball, ruled a home run by 2B Umpire John Libka.
Crew Chief Bill Miller initiated a review for spectator interference, defined by the Official Baseball Rules as occurring "when a spectator (or an object thrown by the spectator) hinders a player’s attempt to make a play on a live ball, by going onto the playing field, or reaching out of the stands and over the playing field."
OBR 6.01(e) specifies what to do when spectator interference occurs: "When there is spectator interference with any thrown or batted ball, the ball shall be dead at the moment of interference and the umpire shall impose such penalties as in their opinion will nullify the act of interference."
Replay determined that available camera angles (which themselves suffered from varying degrees of parallax) did not provide clear/convincing evidence to confirm or overturn the call, and thus ruled the original on-field ruling of home run should stand.
Video as follows:
Video as follows:
Labels:
Articles
,
Fan Interference
,
Instant Replay
,
Interference
,
Rule 2.00 [Interference]
,
Rules Review
,
Video Analysis
Wednesday, March 12, 2025
Is Jumping into a Thrown Ball Interference? The Báez Case
Tigers baserunner Javier Báez jumped into a thrown ball following a diving catch by Rays shortstop Carson Williams, resulting in a double play at Grapefruit League Spring Training. With umpires not ruling this interference, instead signaling Báez out only when Tampa retrieved the loose ball and tagged first base, we review baseball's rules to determine whether the runner interfered with the play or not.
Pursuant to Official Baseball Rule 5.09(b)(3), "any runner is out when they intentionally interfere with a thrown ball; or hinder a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball."
Replays indicate Báez jumped after Williams began his throw toward first base in an attempt to double up Báez for failing to tag up on the air out, which is indeed interference, as long as the umpire deems the runner's actions were an intentional attempt to hinder or impede the defense from making a play (in this case, completing the throw to first base). Replays indicate 2B Umpire Diaz did not signal interference, which by rule, suggests he did not deem Báez's act as intentional in accordance with OBR 5.09(b)(3).
The definition of offensive interference is "an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play."
Video as follows:
Video as follows:
Labels:
Articles
,
Ask the UEFL
,
Interference
,
Rule 2.00 [Interference]
,
Rule 5.09
,
Rules Review
,
UEFL
,
Umpire Odds/Ends
,
Video Analysis
Tuesday, March 4, 2025
Team Loses While Celebrating Despite Missed Base Touch
Seminole St lost to McLennan on a walk-off groundout when the defense celebrated and spiked a live ball, allowing the winning run to score after the catcher missed his base touch on the tying runner.
We briefly consider interference rules - both with the team being on the field during play and potential base coach assistance (illegal if physical) and ponder the possibility of an umpire holding the safe mechanic (arms out) a tick longer so everyone can see the call for this atypical play at home plate (e.g., a pulled foot is a close call that merits additional emphasis, especially at this point in the game for the tying runner), after the other play at first base is concluded.
Video as follows:
Video as follows:
Labels:
Articles
,
Ask the UEFL
,
UEFL
,
Umpire Odds/Ends
,
Video Analysis
Subscribe to:
Posts
(
Atom
)